Whisky Tasting Dinner at La Distellerie, Bourglinster, Luxembourg – March 2013

“I am going, I am going
Any which way the wind may be blowing
I am going, I am going
Where streams of whiskey are flowing”

Streams of Whisky – The Pogues 1984

Just around Christmas time I ran into a friendly guy at the local Supermarket. He attracted my attention – because he was standing in front of a large selection of Malt Whisky – a drink I have enjoyed on many evenings in front of the open fire – back in the days where we had a cottage in Denmark. The perfect threesome in my opinion, Malt Whisky, Cold weather and open fire.

The name of the friendly fellow was Herman, and he was in fact representing the Whisky Club Luxembourg. We chatted a bit and the following day I received an invitation to a Gastronomic dinner at the beautiful Chateau Bourglinster hosted by WCL

I have not been back here for a long time. It is among the best set restaurants, when you cross that small bridge to the Castle, you feel transported a few hundred years back in time. The new chef René Mathieu has been awarded with a michelin star a few years ago.

Chateau Bourglinster

Chateau Bourglinster

Herman was there on chilled evening, in quilt and all – and greeting meant welcoming a good 100 people that was coming to the event.

DSC_7891

Herman in the left middle

The dinner was set up with a 6 course gastronomic menu with a corresponding Whisky to each dish. No wine. No wine. No wine. That was quite a challenge for a wine lover. I was excited to see if it would work, and if I would cope without the wine.

After a glass of a Luxembourgish cremant, and looking at the Whiskies on display we were shown to our table, that apart from Gijs and I consisted of 2 young Scandinavians, a youngster from Belgium and 2 mixed couples. One of the mixed couples – had litterally just arrived in Luxembourg – 4 days before. I can barely remember that feeling – a good 24 years ago a young slim man flew in with great expectations, but I dont think he ever imagined he would still be here 24 years burning down the road. Good luck to the both of you – it was a pleasure meeting you.

I shall show you some of the dishes but not go too much into details.

Saumon...

Saumon…

The second best dish of the evening and a good start. The salmon worked very nicely with the Whisky.

Fois gras poellé

Fois gras poelé

The best dish of the evening. My photo does not give full credit to the dish, I forgot my Canon and had to use my old I-phone.

Next up was a funny dish, Gambas in a letter. Well it might be a funny presentation if you are a smaller table, But we could see the waiters struggling with the opening of 96 envelopes – and that did effect the presentation of the dish in some cases. But funny it was.

An envoi recommandé

Un envoie recommandé

and voila...

and voila…

Next up was the veal, not an outstanding dish, and by this time Gijs and I were REALLY craving wine….I know now how lucky I am to be able to drink a glass or three every evening.

Veal

Veal

Herman was a great host, coming over to our table, being only one of 20 tables or so – to make sure the dishes and corresponding whisky was explained in an understandable language. He never seemed stressed, I am sure he was. Great respect goes to you my friend.

After the veal, we were getting really tired, I had a rough night with no sleep before and we were just about to say our goodbyes, but Herman managed to convince us to stay for the dessert and the following digestive, the 30 year old highlight of the evening.

Dessert...if you zoom in you can real full menu and the corresponding whisky selection.

Dessert – if you zoom in you can red thel full menu and the corresponding whisky selection.

Conclusion:

A great evening. Hats off to the event manager WCL, check them out at http://www.whiskyclublux.com/

If I have any complaints about the night it would be that it was even more difficult for me on a personal level to dine without wine. I know Gijs felt the same or even worse lol.

Some of the dishes went well with the whisky, some were more well borderline. I know many of the dishes would have improved with a glasss of the right wine, but was it a funny experience. Yes indeed it was. And I again met some beautiful people I hope to see again, and apart from the whole dining experience I think that is what good food is also about. For what is good food without friends, and new friends.

I shall not rate the food and restaurant as such. Serving 96 people at the same time in a room laid out for that does not give a fair impression about what the kitchen and chef is all about. The food did not scare me away for sure, and one fine day I will return to La Distellerie with a more private setting.

I was impressed by all the different whiskies – all provided by a good friend of mine – Rossi.

One thing I did take away from this evening, was my urge to swap that Grappa di Prosecco out once in a while with a good malt. So, Herman, my friend – I am sure you will be happy to hear that since that night in March I have aquired meself a bottle of Glenmorangie Sherry Cask and a bottle of Caol Ila.

Slainthe Herman 🙂

Leave a Reply

