“Just one of the guys” – Schloss Berg, Nennig, Germany – 21 October 2011

Hey, Eddie, can you lend me a few bucks
And tonight can you get us a ride
Gotta make it through the tunnel
Got a meeting with a man on the other side

Bruce Springsteen – Meeting across the river

*

Some of my friends had never tried Schloss Berg before, which is why this lunch was arranged. Christian Bau had agreed to open the restaurant just for us. I think it was a perfect way to do it, because this way 8 “loud” gentlemen had no worries in regard to disturbing other guests with our laughter or dirty jokes.

Since I have just made a review from Schloss Berg – see 18th December -I shall just recap that it was a perfect lunch. One guests was not so impresssed by one dish, one maybe had reservations about another, but in the end we got outstanding food, and perfect wines to match. Daniel engaged again in storytelling and opinions on the wines chosen. And I promised the guys to put of a little something so we can always remember this very special afternoon we spend “across the river on the other side…”.

Here it goes…

Tasters…

So of all these…I think the white truffles/chestnuts creme stood out. What a feast for your nose and palette.

And the menu could start….

Fois Gras - Bau style...

I love this. Having had it before here in more or less the same presentation, I think actually that Bau had been TOO generous with the amount of Fois Gras today – it was ALMOST more than one could handle. Off course only almost.

Scallop with Pumpkin - what a beautiful dish !

Fish, Langoustine and shrimps....

Some of the “audience” wondered why the presentation was done like that. I mean, we amateur chefs all learn daily from television or books etc. that a real gastronomic dish is naturally centered in the middle, and you avoid the ring around the plate. So what does Bau do ? He avoids the middle and place everything in the ring. Maybe he just wanted to remind us all that there are no rules in good food.

Nebraska beef

Some discussion here, one of the guys was not too impressed with the meat. I think it was just about lovely. But I do prefer the presentation from 18th December – where I forgot to take a picture – sorry. But the standing slimmer pieces worked better than this.

Re-take on a classic - Banana split !

Simply loved it…..The desserts here NEVER lets you down. Explosions of taste in your mouth.

Sweets...

Non-alcoholic (!!!) 😦 Mojito shots...great colour.

So….thank you guys for joining me, I think we had a blast. And again I thank the wonderful staff on the floor and in the kitchen for having us, and for performing at such high level always. We especially thank you for opening the doors at a time where the restaurant is normally closed.

Happy faces and full bellies....

I cant wait to be back in Spring. I wish you a all at Schloss Berg a Happy New Year.

If you have the time, take a moment to read this wonderful post by a good friend. he visited Schloss Berg for the first time, and he puts it in top 5 of the world. And he has tried many along the way….

http://michelinstarfinedinings.wordpress.com/2011/09/16/victor%E2%80%99s-gourmet-restaurant-schloss-berg-perl-nennig-german-cooking-precision-oriental-inspiration/

Hey Eddie, this guy, he’s the real thing
So if you want to come along
You gotta promise you won’t say anything
‘Cause this guy don’t dance
And the word’s been passed this is our last chance

Bruce Springsteen – Meeting across the river

3 comments on ““Just one of the guys” – Schloss Berg, Nennig, Germany – 21 October 2011

  1. S Lloyd says:

    Bo,
    Wow, amazing, always amazing to read your great reviews.
    Thanks for the reference to my review of Victor Gourmet Schloss Berg. I was so impressed by this restaurant, the atmosphere, the genius cooking of Chef Bau, the amazing staff, the great wines. Next time I am going back there –hopefully there will be a next and many more times, too — I’ll drop by and pay a visit to you.

  2. bo frederiksen says:

    Dear S. Lloyd. As I told you, whenever I read your blog. I want to give up writing straight away. My English or abilities are not good enough to get in all the details you do. I just float……hey reminds me of a great line by Bob Dylan…People dont live or die, people just float.

    But I thank you for your compliments. I am truly happy you liked Schloss Berg, because 1) I feel the same, and 2) I tried to convince you to choose Bau over some of your other options…and knowing you are happy you did….well it just makes med happy.

    I hope that one day we can dine there together, even though I know you prefer to stay an “anonymous diner” whenever you visit the restaurants you review.

    And to all other readers..PLEASE – do take a minut and visit michelinstarfinediningswordpress,com – its one of the best. See link above in the bottom of the original post or among my friends.

  3. S Lloyd says:

    Thanks for the kind words. That dinner was very inspirational, therefore I was inspired when writing about it. Next time I am there, I won’t review restaurants so that we can take time to enjoy things. Again, thanks for inviting others to read my review, but honestly I prefer your reviews!
    Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

