Lameloise, Chagny, France – 1 April 2011

The long awaited visit to Lameloise was due….and it was no Aprils Fool. The gastronomic highligt of our trip. As I mentioned in previous posts about Lameloise, I have a special room in my heart reserved for this restaurant, and I probably always will have. Its classic, its high level – its not food from another planet, but food presented beautifully and with the best of produce. I think tonight was my 10th visit or so over the last 18 years.

So expectations were as always sky high and Frederic Lamy, the Maitre – almost immediately set the tone, when he greeted us all at our table. Good evening – I had expected to see Oscar and Emil here tonight !!!!!!!!

Now I know I forwarded my last review by email to them, and I know its easy to google a guest these days….but still. Its nice when the effort is made by the people in charge to recognize that they know who you are and have taken the time to read the blog or the review. Thanks for that. I almost felt like a king dining at George V.

Well as it turned out, I was not dining with my boys tonight but with my blood brothers, Kjetil, Uffe and Frode..and here they are anticipating the dinner..

Fox Force Four minus yours truly !

The kir was ordered, the amuses brought, the menu booked…

And this is was followed

I think a Lameloise classic, first round of amuses…

Second rounds, as the first round served in the library/lounge.

We ordered the wine, a crispy Rully 1. cru from Jackeson, a fat Meursault from J. Prieur, and a smooth Gevrey-Chambertin from A. Rousseau

Last greeting from the kitchen, Crab on a lettuce creme

Cold and warm Langoustine, the cold on a creme of celeriac

Loved this one….10p in my book. The warm being coated in crisp rice.

A true beauty, Scallops on risotto, Asparagus and Calamares

Unfortunately, the Scallops were overcooked, and we all know what that means. Thus a perfect dish was far from it. So dispite the tasteful asparagus…7p

Fois Gras with apple

Nice, nothing more nothing less. 9p

Different cuts of Lamb

Now the chevre coated in citrus, was quiete a surprice on your tongue, and a true spark to the dish. However, the quality of the dish was in fact the quality of the lamb. Simple as that. 9.5p

Cheese….

Now if you ever happen to be at Lameloise…DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT forget to order the cheese trolley. They are all perfectly mature, and the selection is all you could wish for. Bread and nuts are added. 10p

Pre-dessert

I simply cannot remember what it was. Blame it on the wine or on the dish itself. I shall therefore not rate it.

First round of sweets. We finished them all.

My choice of dessert…a chocolate “thing”

The dish just perfect, the crisp layers, the chocolate mousse, the icy bon bons – a light heavyweight 9.5p

K’s choice….after he broke the shell. Sorbet and fruits…

I did not hear any complaints, and it was a beauty on the plate…10p…according to Kjetil. He dug it the most….

Last round of sweets from above…

and from the side

Conclusion:

It is always good to be back at Lameloise. You feel welcome. The room embraces you. There is a certain vibe. When that is said, the service had a few flaws this evening. We were in fact left alone without water a few times etc. It could have been worse. It could have been the wine. The sommelier where the only one to notice this – the last time – and seemed pretty irritated by it, his own or his colleagues mishab. But for the overcooked scallops there is no excuse. They should never have left the kitchen. So – this might seem like minor flaws, but when you eat at a 3 star establishment, you expect the service to be top-notch and the food to be flawless. And I am sure the maitre will be more bothered about this than we actually were. But, great menu, great inter-action with the sommelier, great bread throughout the meal, the warm greeting etc. made us all feel like we spend a pretty good evening.

So, brood brothers, – thanks for behaving (most of the time). Lameloise, thanks for having us, be sure to find us back – we had a great evening. And to Frederic Lamy – thanks again for reading my blog. It is highly appreciated. I shall bring Oscar and Emil next time…you asked for it.

http://www.lameloise.fr

My rating for this visit: Food 9p (10), service 4.5p (5), ambience 5p (5), total score for this visit  18.5p (20)

7 comments on “Lameloise, Chagny, France – 1 April 2011

  1. Kjetil says:

    Did I mention that Frode and I returned for lunch on sunday after you’d left for Lux? Had the same dessert then. The surprise factor was not the same, obviously, but the taste was! Luckally. A perfect ten in my book. For lunch we had steaksteaksteaksteak. And a Vosne-Romanée. You’d dig it the most! 🙂

  2. bo frederiksen says:

    You didnt…..tell me you didnt !

    I shall change the rating of your dessert accordingly.

    I’d say GODDAMNIT !!!

  3. Kjetil says:

    Oh, I’m sorry. Did I break your concentration? 😉

  4. Ellie says:

    you boys and your delicate desserts …

    that sounds amazing … next time someone needs to take a photo of all 4 musketeers
    x

  5. Kjetil says:

    Ellie. I’ll make sure and get The Bo on film this year around. Only a few weeks to go … 🙂

  6. bo frederiksen says:

    Jesus, now I have to loose weight an all…

  7. Kjetil says:

    No worries, Bo. I carry a wide angle lens for my camera 😉

Leave a Reply

