Hospice de Beaune, Meursault-Genevrieres 1. cru, Cuvée Baudot 2004

Wine of the month – April 2008

Hospice de Beaune, Meursault-Genevrieres 1. cru, Cuvée Baudot

This bottle was bought from the cellars of Patriarche in Beaune last year (Thank you Pernille and Jean-Michel for many stunning tastings).

If you are not familiar with the concept of Hospice de Beaune, look it up on google, but the basic idea is that the wines are sold in barrels in November, the proceeds going to charity/the running of Hospice de Beaune. The negotiants buying the wine, then is responsible for when the wine is actually bottled under certain restrictions. The Patriarche cellar claims to make the best effort of all negotiants to make sure the end product is the best possible. I cannot judge that, but only say that I have seldom been disappointed with their Hospice de Beaune wines.

This 2004 Meursault-Genevrieres has a medium golden colour. A deep, waxy and beautiful nose. The palate shows a super waxy-smooth texture and great depth. The taste is very long. And leaving it open, it just keeps getting better and better. Unfortunately the bottle kept getting emptier and emptier as well. To drink this wine now, would probably be considered a lethal crime among experts….but I´m a drinker not a collector…and I really enjoy to feel the power and energy, even if a wine is far from having reached its full potential.

I have tried the king of all them whites – Montrachet on 4 different occasions….my favourite being the 1999 from Marc Colin, but this Hospice de Beaune is way up there among the best whites in my opinion. Its a different style…..a typical “nutty” Meursault and not quite as elegant as a Montrachet but for “only” around 50 euro – it comes at a fraction of the Montrachet wines. Try if if you get the chance.

15 comments on “Hospice de Beaune, Meursault-Genevrieres 1. cru, Cuvée Baudot 2004

  1. Trine says:

    Thanks for the note, Bo!
    White Burgundies are unbeatable. I now realise that I have to try a Montrachet for once in my life.
    Can you elaborate on what you mean by waxy? Thick, oily? And how did you find the acidity of it? 2004 I have noticed can be very acidic and out of balance in my opinion.

  2. bo frederiksen says:

    How do u like my photo Trine ?

    Nice to see u back…thanks….

    Yes..you do….at least once or twice….in a lifetime…the Montrachet…..

    Waxy…a little fat…just like I like it…..

    The acidity was nice rather than disturbing imho.

    Like I said…one of my favs….a wine dont need to be more than this one…except maybe for the one or two times in life…where it should in fact be a Montrachet LOL.

  3. Trine says:

    Very nice photo! There a sense of oldness to it from the light (I think), which I like a lot. What kind of glass is it?

  4. bo frederiksen says:

    Meet Trine, the detailist….

    Its actually a huge Villeroy and Boch glass which I normally use whenever theres a superior white Burgundy in the glass. Otherwise I am addicted to Riedel.

  5. Kjetil says:

    Since when does The Bo drink whites? As for the fatness, i think Frod and I has decided upon the term “viscous”. The word is what is left in his vocabular from his days as an oil-changer at a petrol station. I cellared four(!) Puligny Montrachets last year. Hope I live to tell. I Do concur with Trine, White (central) Burgundies are to die for! Thanks for the rep. Bring a bottle or two for the concert in June 🙂

    Lotsalove, Che.

  6. bo frederiksen says:

    Deal done Che. I shall bring one.

    And for your kind and curious remark I can provide the following info. I have always enjoyed a lot of whites…but these days – at this stage in my life circle…some might call it autumn….I find whites easier to deal with – meaning I am not glued to the bed the day after….You will know what I mean when you in many years will become of my age.

    See you soooooooon in Oslo….Bruuuuuuuuuuuuce.

  7. bo frederiksen says:

    Question is…can I bring one Che ?..on a plane ? Not familiar with the regulations these days…but even if it is a fat Burgundy, I would still consider it to be liquid in some fashion.

  8. Kjetil says:

    Haha, I would have to agree, Bo. Even the fattest of Pulignys would still be regarded as a possible liquid explosive. (And who am I to differ…?)

    You’ll (and I’ll) be fine as long as you put it in your valise and check it in. Don’t bring it inside the cabin.

    In anticipation,
    Kjetil

  9. Trine says:

    Kjetil, I know. And Leroy is the queen of all kings 😉

  10. Frode says:

    And for the first time in my life, yet hopefully not the last, I will share a bottle of Le Montrachet with Kje. Just waiting for my pusher to deliver the goods…
    It feels like I’m back in the oil business!

    Fede

    • bo frederiksen says:

      Which producer which year, whats the occasion…details please.

      • Frode says:

        Vintage 1999 bought from Pernille (aka the pusher). What do you mean occasion? Other than just for tasting the wine? Isn’t that occasion enough?

  11. bo frederiksen says:

    OK send me photos. Enjoy.

  12. Jackson says:

    Good work buddy, keep writing.

Leave a Reply

